Mile News

Mile Guide: 2013 NCAA Indoor Championships

March 07, 2013

Chris O'Hare, Emma Coburn enter championships as favorites

By Bring Back the Mile

Last year 33 collegiate men broke the four-minute barrier, a record, and a substantial increase over the 22 that did so in 2011. In fact six sub-4 Milers stayed home having to watch the NCAA Championship on television. The competition was so strong that newly minted NCAA indoor Mile record holder with the most appropriate of names, BYU's Miles Batty, finished third in the NCAA Mile final. So how did the collegiate Milers handle the post-Olympic hangover after such an impressive 2012?

  • 2012 NCAA Mile Champion, Chris O'Hare (Tulsa / GBR), chopped over a second-and-a-half off Miles' Mile record, racing to a 3:52.98 at the famed Wanamaker Mile.
  • 31 men broke four minutes in the Mile, with eight of them on the outside of the NCAA meet looking in.
  • Cornell's Nick Wade would have made it nine, but was an eyelash's length away from being the 397th American to break four minutes, setting his PR at 4:00.00.
  • Lawi Lalang (Arizona / KEN) and Ryan Hill (NC State) both come into the meet with sub-3:55 Mile bests this year; 3:54.56 for Lalang and 3:54.89 for Hill.

2012 Olympic steeplechaser, Emma Coburn of Colorado, decided to trade jumping steeple barriers for the magic of the Mile and was rewarded with a collegiate leading 4:29.86, the 44th American woman to break 4:30 in the Mile. With Dartmouth's Abbey D'Agostino (4:30.03) choosing the 5000m / 3000m double, there is over a two second margin between Coburn and Florida's Cory McGee (4:32.10). Will Coburn follow in the footsteps of another notable CU steeplechase alum in mastering the Mile?

  • 37 women have broken 4:40 in the Mile in 2013 to-date; a signifcant increase from the 29 who did so in 2012 and the 20 breaking 4:40 in 2011.
  • While 2011 IAAF World Champion Jenny Simpson at the Metric Mile clocked a 4:25 indoor Mile collegiate record at CU, displayed the uncanny similarities between Simpson and Coburn in the 800m, 1500m and steeple:
    * Simpson: 2:09 / 4:11 / 9:22
    * Coburn: 2:09 / 4:09 / 9:23
  • Only five women from the 2012 field have returned for 2013 (Friday, Kesselring, McGee, Osika and Strausa)
  • A new champion will be crowned in the indoor Mile. In the last 15 years, there have been no repeat champions and only two women have managed to win the NCAA Indoor Mile title for a second time - Carmen Douma (Villanova / CAN) in 1998 & 2000 and Johanna Nilsson (NAU / SWE) in 2004 & 2006.  

On the prep-end of the competitive spectrum, the New Balance Indoor National Championships are also this weekend at the Armory in New York. Go to for complete start lists, information and results. 


2013 NCAA Track & Field Championships
Fayetteville, AR, Friday, March 8 - Saturday, March 9


NCAA Women's Accepted Entries

Meet Record: 4:29.72, Sarah Bowman (Tennessee), 2009
NCAA Record: 4:25.91, Jenny Simpson (Colorado), 2009
USA Record: 4:20.5, Mary Slaney (OR), 1982 
World Record: 4:17.14, Doina Melinte (ROM), 1990

Emma Coburn Colorado SR 4:29.86
Cory McGee Florida JR 4:32.10
Amanda Winslow Florida State SR 4:33.22
Rebecca Tracy Notre Dame SR 4:33.22
Jillian King Boston College SR 4:34.19
Laura Roxberg Missouri SR 4:34.59
Vicky Fouhy Virginia SR 4:34.87
Anne Kesselring Oregon SR 4:35.33
Becca Friday Oregon SR 4:35.34
Amanda Mergaert Utah SR 4:35.35
Carly Hamilton Georgia SO 4:36.06
Kelly Williams West Virginia FR 4:36.77
Rachel Schneider Georgetown SR 4:37.08
Christine Babcock Washington SR 4:37.57
Agata Strausa Florida JR 4:37.58
Shannon Osika Michigan SO 4:37.91

NCAA Men's Accepted Entries

Meet Record: 3:55.33, Kevin Sullivan (Michigan), 1995
NCAA Record: 3:52.98, Chris O'Hare (Tulsa), 2013
USA Record: 3:49.89, Bernard Lagat (AZ), 2005
World Record: 3:48.45, Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR), 1997

Chris O'Hare Tulsa SR 3:52.98*
Lawi Lalang Arizona JR 3:54.56
Ryan Hill North Carolina SR 3:54.89
Robby Creese Penn State SO 3:57.11
Michael Atchoo Stanford JR 3:57.11
Raul Botezan Oklahoma State SR 3:57.79
Julian Matthews Providence SR 3:58.14
Austin Mudd Wisconsin SO 3:58.59
Brett Johnson Oregon JR 3:58.62
Joseph Stilin Texas SR 3:58.66
Tyler Stutzman Stanford SR 3:58.85
Mac Fleet Oregon JR 3:58.90
Matt Miner Oregon SR 3:59.01
John Simons Minnesota JR 3:59.32
Christopher Fallon Ohio State SR 3:59.37
Robert Denault Villanova SO 3:59.39
* NCAA Men's Indoor Mile Record


Tags: ncaa indoor mile (8) , emma coburn (22) , chris o'hare (21)

Facebook Comments

Return the Mile to prominence on the American & worldwide sports and cultural landscape by elevating and celebrating the Mile to create a movement.

Bring Back the Mile as the premier event in the sport, and increase interest in and media coverage of the Mile for both those who love the distance as well as the general public.

Bring Back the Mile to celebrate the storied distance and to recognize the people who made and make the Mile great and to promote Mile events and the next generation of U.S. Milers.

Bring Back the Mile to create a national movement for the Mile as America’s Distance,
to inspire Americans to run the Mile as part of their fitness program and to replace the 1600 meters at High School State Track & Field Meets across the country.

Become a Mile Maniac member or a BBTM sponsor today! Join us, and go Mile!

Join Us

Thanks for joining the movement and being a Mile Maniac. We'll keep you up to-date with our Mile wires as well as exclusive contests and opportunities. Help us spread the word by sharing our site and joining us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram!