Mile News

Bring Back the Mile Grand Prix Tour Announces 2018 Schedule

February 13, 2018

5th Tour edition with 5 stops offers total Tour prize purse of more than $110,000; Grand Blue Mile opens 2018 racing season on Tuesday, April 24 in Des Moines; Running Warehouse’s fan engagement online contest again tied to each Tour event

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – Bring Back the Mile, the national campaign to elevate & celebrate the iconic distance, has announced the 5th edition of its grand prix tour, featuring 5 leading U.S. events from across the country. The Bring Back the Mile Grand Prix Tour 2018, with more than $110,000 in guaranteed prize money, kicks off at the Grand Blue Mile in Des Moines, Iowa on Tuesday, April 24. The BBTM GP Tour 2017 titles were won by 2016 Rio Olympian Ben Blankenship and rising star Emily Lipari.

“We look forward to another year of exciting racing action on the BBTM Grand Prix Tour that shines the spotlight on five premier U.S. Mile events and top Mile athletes,” said BBTM Founder Ryan Lamppa. “Our Tour partner, the Running Warehouse, will again award shoes and more for our fan engagement contest winners at each Tour stop.”

Bring Back the Mile Grand Prix Tour 2018 Events
9th Grand Blue Mile: USA Road Championships
     Des Moines, IA, Tuesday, April 24, $25,000 plus $2500 course record bonus
13th Medtronic TC 1 Mile
     Minneapolis, MN, Thursday, May 10, $25,000 plus $10,000 event record bonus
7th GNC Live Well Liberty Mile
     Pittsburgh, PA, Friday, July 20, $25,000
12th Minnesota Mile
     Duluth, MN, Friday, September 7, $17,000
4th The Navy Mile
     Washington, DC, Sunday, September 30, $15,000

The Tour athletes will vie for a guaranteed events’ prize purse of $107,000 plus a $10,000 Grand Prix payout. Per Tour event per gender, the top 6 will score points (10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1) with the top 4 scorers earning Grand Prix money ($2500, $1000, $750 and $500) plus a $250 bonus per gender for the Tour Performance-of-the-Year.

In addition, at each Tour stop, the online contest presented by Running Warehouse returns to engage Mile fans with the winners receiving Running Warehouse product as well as BBTM swag.

BBTM Grand Prix Tour Champions (2014-17)
2014 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2015 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2016 Riley Masters & Heather Kampf
2017 Ben Blankenship & Emily Lipari

Visit or contact for more BBTM Grand Prix Tour news and information. #Tour2018

Below #Tour2017 GP Champions: Ben Blankenship & Emily Lipari

Tags: the navy mile (29) , ryan lamppa (110) , minnesota mile (32) , medtronic tc 1 mile (50) , grand blue mile (48) , gnc live well liberty mile (69) , emily lipari (51) , ben blankenship (72) , bbtm tour (196) , bbtm news (207)

Facebook Comments

Return the Mile to prominence on the American & worldwide sports and cultural landscape by elevating and celebrating the Mile to create a movement.

Bring Back the Mile as the premier event in the sport, and increase interest in and media coverage of the Mile for both those who love the distance as well as the general public.

Bring Back the Mile to celebrate the storied distance and to recognize the people who made and make the Mile great and to promote Mile events and the next generation of U.S. Milers.

Bring Back the Mile to create a national movement for the Mile as America’s Distance,
to inspire Americans to run the Mile as part of their fitness program and to replace the 1600 meters at High School State Track & Field Meets across the country.

Become a Mile Maniac member or a BBTM sponsor today! Join us, and go Mile!

Join Us

Thanks for joining the movement and being a Mile Maniac. We'll keep you up to-date with our Mile wires as well as exclusive contests and opportunities. Help us spread the word by sharing our site and joining us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram!