Thank You BBTM Supporters!

The following dedicated people helped launch and support Bring Back the Mile. Thank you ALL!

Anne Audain, three-time New Zealand Olympian and resident Mile record holder (4:33.93)
Paul Banta, OSE Productions
Don Bowden, first American to break 4 minutes for the Mile (1957); 1956 Olympian 1500m; Mile PR (3:58.7)
Rod Dixon, 1972 Olympic 1500m bronze medalist for New Zealand; Mile PR (3:53.62)
Ray Flynn, Irish Olympian and Mile record holder (3:49.77)
Steve Holman,1992 Olympian 1500m; Mile PR (3:50.40)
Basil Honikman, co-founder and former CEO of Running USA
Meb Keflezighi, 2004 Olympic Marathon silver medalist, #1 high school Miler (1994)
Rich Kenah, 2000 Olympian 800m and sub-4 minute Miler (3:59.43 PR)
Bob Larsen, former Mammoth Track Club coach & UCLA head coach and 2004 Olympic distance coach
Marty Liquori, 1968 Olympian; #1 ranked Miler in 1969 & 1971 (last American male); Mile PR (3:52.2)
Terrence Mahon, Golden Coast Track Club coach; Mammoth Track Club founder / former Team Running USA coach
Leo Manzano, 2012 Olympic 1500m silver medalist; Mile PR (3:50.64)
Tim Murphy, Elite Racing and Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series founder
Walt Murphy, track & field journalist
Dick Patrick, track & field journalist, formerly at USA Today
Keith Peters, Executive Director for the Council for Responsible Sport
Jon Rankin, California prep standout, NCAA All-American at UCLA; Mile PR (3:54.24)
Larry Rawson, TV commentator
Toni Reavis, TV commentator and journalist
Jim Ryun, 1968 Olympic 1500m silver medalist; former world record holder in the Mile (3:51.1); first HS sub-4 (1964)
Francie Larrieu Smith, five-time Olympic team member; former U.S. Mile record holder; Mile PR (4:27.52)
Mary Slaney, three-time Olympian; former Mile world record holder; Mile PR (4:16.71, current U.S. record)
Carrie Tollefson, 2004 Olympian 1500m; three-time USA champion; Mile PR (4:27.96)
Joe Vigil, legendary distance running, Team Running USA and Olympic coach
Alan Webb, 2004 Olympian, U.S. Mile record holder (3:46.91) & High School record holder (3:53.43)
Dave Wottle, 1972 Olympic 800m champion; Mile PR (3:53.3)
Ruth Wysocki, 1984 Olympian 1500m; Mile PR (4:21.78)

Return the Mile to prominence on the American & worldwide sports and cultural landscape by elevating and celebrating the Mile to create a movement.

Bring Back the Mile as the premier event in the sport, and increase interest in and media coverage of the Mile for both those who love the distance as well as the general public.

Bring Back the Mile to celebrate the storied distance and to recognize the people who made and make the Mile great and to promote Mile events and the next generation of U.S. Milers.

Bring Back the Mile to create a national movement for the Mile as America’s Distance,
to inspire Americans to run the Mile as part of their fitness program and to replace the 1600 meters at High School State Track & Field Meets across the country.

Become a Mile Maniac member or a BBTM sponsor today! Join us, and go Mile!

Join Us

Thanks for joining the movement and being a Mile Maniac. We'll keep you up to-date with our Mile wires as well as exclusive contests and opportunities. Help us spread the word by sharing our site and joining us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram!