Mile News

Grand Blue Mile Opens BBTM Grand Prix Tour 2019

March 26, 2019

6th Tour edition presented by Running Warehouse showcases 5 leading U.S. Mile races and top Mile athletes; total Tour prize purse exceeds $110,000

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – Bring Back the Mile, the national campaign to elevate & celebrate the iconic distance, has announced the 6th edition of its grand prix tour, featuring 5 top U.S. events and offering more than $110,000 in guaranteed prize money. The BBTM Grand Prix Tour 2019 presented by Running Warehouse opens its season at the Grand Blue Mile in Des Moines, Iowa on Tuesday, April 23. The Tour 2018 titles were won by rising stars Daniel Herrera and Emily Lipari, who defended her grand prix crown.

“We welcome the Mile events and presenting sponsor Running Warehouse to this year’s Tour as we anticipate another year of exciting racing action over the storied distance,” said Ryan Lamppa, BBTM Founder. “In addition, new this year, Mile fans will help decide the best Tour 2019 moments for athlete bonus money and contest swag.”

BBTM Grand Prix Tour 2019 Events
10th Grand Blue Mile: USA Road Championships
     Des Moines, IA, Tuesday, April 23, $25,000 plus $2500 course record bonus
Inaugural Virginia Mason Memorial Downtown Yakima Mile
     Yakima, WA, Saturday, June 8, $23,800 plus $5000 state record bonus
8th Fleet Feet Liberty Mile
     Pittsburgh, PA, Friday, August 9, $23,000
24th Aetna Falmouth Elite Mile
     Falmouth, MA, Saturday, August 17, $15,000 plus time & event record bonus money
5th The Navy Mile
     Washington, DC, Sunday, October 6, $15,000 plus event record bonus

The Tour athletes will compete for a guaranteed events’ prize purse of $101,800 plus a $10,000 Grand Prix payout. Per Tour event per gender, the top 6 will score points (10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1) with the top 4 scorers earning Grand Prix money ($2000, $1000, $600 and $400) plus new this year: a $1000 bonus per gender ($500 and $500) for the top two Tour Moments.

From the top 4 Tour “Mile Moments” of the Year per gender, the top two Tour Moments will be awarded $500 each based on a vote of 25% Running Warehouse, 25% BBTM and 50% fans.

In addition, 4 voting fans of the Tour Moments, from a random draw, will receive Running Warehouse gift cards as well as BBTM swag.

BBTM Grand Prix Tour Champions (2014-18)
2014 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2015 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2016 Riley Masters & Heather Kampf
2017 Ben Blankenship & Emily Lipari
2018 Daniel Herrera & Emily Lipari

Visit or contact for more BBTM Grand Prix Tour news and information. #Tour2019

Tags: yakima mile (15) , the navy mile (29) , ryan lamppa (110) , running warehouse (20) , liberty mile (16) , grand blue mile (48) , falmouth mile (26) , emily lipari (51) , daniel herrera (24) , bbtm tour (196)

Facebook Comments

Return the Mile to prominence on the American & worldwide sports and cultural landscape by elevating and celebrating the Mile to create a movement.

Bring Back the Mile as the premier event in the sport, and increase interest in and media coverage of the Mile for both those who love the distance as well as the general public.

Bring Back the Mile to celebrate the storied distance and to recognize the people who made and make the Mile great and to promote Mile events and the next generation of U.S. Milers.

Bring Back the Mile to create a national movement for the Mile as America’s Distance,
to inspire Americans to run the Mile as part of their fitness program and to replace the 1600 meters at High School State Track & Field Meets across the country.

Become a Mile Maniac member or a BBTM sponsor today! Join us, and go Mile!

Join Us

Thanks for joining the movement and being a Mile Maniac. We'll keep you up to-date with our Mile wires as well as exclusive contests and opportunities. Help us spread the word by sharing our site and joining us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram!