Mile News

Minnesotans Are Favorites for Thursday’s Medtronic TC 1 Mile

May 11, 2015

USATF 1 Mile Road Championships and second Bring Back the Mile Grand Prix Tour 2015 stop draws top pro field vying for $25,000 purse and $10,000 event record bonuses

From Twin Cities In Motion

ST. PAUL, Minn. – A pair of Minnesotans are the favorites to win the USATF 1 Mile Road titles at the host Medtronic TC 1 Mile on Thursday evening in downtown Minneapolis. Heather Kampf, the Rosemount native and former University of Minnesota star, has her sights on a third career USA 1 Mile Road crown, while Garrett Heath, a Winona native, seeks a second national title.

Men’s and women’s professional fields are now set for the 10th edition that moves to a new Hennepin Avenue course this year. In all, 13 men and 12 women will race in the USATF 1 Mile Road Championship waves which culminate an evening of racing where more than 2,500 runners will compete over one of the sport’s signature distances.

Kampf, 28, who has made a habit of winning Mile races on the roads – she’s won events in Des Moines, Duluth, Pittsburgh and Minneapolis among others – recently won her second Grand Blue Mile title in Des Moines.

Heath, 29, who was the runner-up to event record holder Nick Willis at the 2013 Medtronic TC 1 Mile and is the second fastest runner ever in the event at 3:57.1, is coming off a personal record 13:16.31 5000 meter effort at the Payton Jordan Invitational.

Looking to challenge Kampf in the women’s field are Rebecca Addison (Spring Lake, Mich.), winner of the Payton Jordan Invitation 1500 meters, her former University of Michigan teammate Amanda Eccleston (Adrian, Mich), the 2014 Traverse City Golden Mile champ, three-time NCAA champion Angela Bizzarri (Seattle, Wash.) and Christy Cazzola (Appleton, Wis.) a 17-time NCAA Division III champion while competing for the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh. Gabriele Grunewald, who had been announced as part of the women’s field, has withdrawn.

Joining Heath in the men’s race are 2012 Medtronic TC 1 Mile champ Craig Miller (Denver, Colo.), Scott Smith (Oklahoma City, Okla.), a 3rd-place finisher at the 2012 Medtronic TC 1 Mile as well as at last fall the Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon, Aaron Braun (Alamosa, Colo.) the Medtronic TC 1 Mile runner-up in 2012, and Jeff See (Greenville, S.C.), the 2011 USA Indoor Mile champion and the runner-up at the 2013 USA 1 Mile Road Championships.

A men’s and women’s combined prize purse of $25,000 awaits the championship fields. Race winners who better the existing event records will earn a $10,000 bonus in addition to the champion’s prize of $5000. Sara Hall set the women’s event record of 4:30.8 in 2011, while Nick Willis set the men’s standard in 2013 at 3:56.1.

The USATF 1 Mile Road Championships return to the Medtronic TC 1 Mile for the first time since 2012 as part of a two-year designation from the sport’s governing body. The event is also the second stop on the Bring Back the Mile Grand Prix Tour that offers a $7500 tour prize purse.

The Medtronic TC 1 Mile, organized by Twin Cities In Motion, features an evening of races for runners of all ages and abilities. Action kicks off at 6:50pm CDT and culminates with the USATF Championship races at 7:54pm (women) and 8:06pm (men). will webcast the USATF Championship waves live during coverage of the HOKA ONE ONE Middle Distance Classic on Thursday night. Twin Cities In Motion staff and volunteers will provide text, photo and video coverage of the Medtronic TC 1 Mile via Twitter and associated social media. Follow @tcmarathon and #TC1Mile to keep track of the event.

Visit for more information.

USATF 1 Mile Road Championship Startlists


Name Residence Personal Best
Heather Kampf Minneapolis, MN 4:21.39
Amanda Eccleston Adrian, MI 4:25.78
Rebecca Addison Spring Lake, MI 4:42.99
Angela Bizzarri Seattle, WA 4:32.57
Becca Friday Austin, TX 4:37.50
Christy Cazzola Appleton, WI 4:33.97
Kristen Findley Austin, TX 4:37.68
Meghan Peyton Richfield, MN 4:40.50
Ayla Granados Chico, CA 4:42.89*
Melissa Agnew Richfield, MN 4:46.77
Carmen Graves Christiansburg, VA 4:45.98
Gina Valgoi St. Paul, MN 4:43.69



Name Residence Personal Best
Craig Miller Denver, CO 3:53.1
Garrett Heath Seattle, WA 3:51.0
Jeff See Greenville, SC 3:52.9
Trevor Dunbar Eugene, OR 3:57.19
John Simons Blowing Rock, NC 3:59.32i
Frezer Legesse Oklahoma City, OK 3:58.95
Jon Peterson Minneapolis, MN 4:02.00
Aaron Braun Alamosa, CO 4:01.43
Brandon Hudgins Boone, NC 4:01.64
Scott Smith Oklahoma City, OK 4:01.93
David Stilin Minneapolis, MN 4:09.68
Ben Sathre Chaska, MN 4:10.59
Robby Nierman Bloomington, IN 4:03.35

* Denotes converted 1500 meter performance

Tags: usa 1 mile road championships (19) , medtronic tc 1 mile (50) , heather kampf (131) , garrett heath (40) , craig miller (16) , bbtm tour (196)

Facebook Comments

Return the Mile to prominence on the American & worldwide sports and cultural landscape by elevating and celebrating the Mile to create a movement.

Bring Back the Mile as the premier event in the sport, and increase interest in and media coverage of the Mile for both those who love the distance as well as the general public.

Bring Back the Mile to celebrate the storied distance and to recognize the people who made and make the Mile great and to promote Mile events and the next generation of U.S. Milers.

Bring Back the Mile to create a national movement for the Mile as America’s Distance,
to inspire Americans to run the Mile as part of their fitness program and to replace the 1600 meters at High School State Track & Field Meets across the country.

Become a Mile Maniac member or a BBTM sponsor today! Join us, and go Mile!

Join Us

Thanks for joining the movement and being a Mile Maniac. We'll keep you up to-date with our Mile wires as well as exclusive contests and opportunities. Help us spread the word by sharing our site and joining us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram!