Mile News

Kampf Three-Peats, Masters Wins Bring Back the Mile Grand Prix Tour 2016 Titles

October 02, 2016

Grand prix tour with 6 stops awarded more than $125,000 plus $10,000 GP purse; Tour Performance-of-the-Year by Ben Blankenship & Emily Lipari; Running Warehouse’s “Pick-the-Winner” contest engaged Mile fans at every event for third edition

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – (October 2, 2016) – At the Bring Back the Mile Grand Prix Tour 2016 finale, with wins at The Navy Mile on Sunday in Washington, DC, Heather Kampf three-peated as Tour grand prix champion, while Riley Masters took home the men’s GP title with 42 and 24 points, respectively, and earned $2500 each as GP champion. At the second edition, Kampf, 29, Inver Grove Heights, MN and Masters, 26, Seattle, WA covered the course on historic Pennsylvania Avenue in 4 minutes, 38 seconds and 4:04, respectively, to also shatter the event records.

“Congratulations to Heather Kampf and Riley Masters as the BBTM Grand Prix Tour 2016 champions, and like the past two editions, the Tour this year showcased some of the best Mile events in the country with thrilling racing action producing one state record and five event records,” said BBTM Founder Ryan Lamppa. “A big thank you to the Tour events and athletes and Running Warehouse for supporting and celebrating the Mile.”

The Tour 2016 featured 6 marquee Mile events from across the country, and the overall prize purse awarded for the six Tour events exceeded $125,000 plus a record $10,000 for the top 4 Grand Prix athletes. Per Tour event per gender, the top 6 scored points (10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1) with the top 4 scorers earning Grand Prix money ($2500, $1000, $750 and $500).

New this year: a $250 bonus for the Tour Performance-of-the-Year was awarded per gender to Ben Blankenship and Emily Lipari. Blankenship beat a top national championship field at the Medtronic TC 1 Mile, clocking an event record 3:55.8 and also earning a $10,000 bonus, while Lipari upset Queen of the Road Mile Kampf at the Minnesota Mile.

BBTM GP Tour 2016 champions and highlights:
4th Camel City Elite Mile
Winston-Salem, NC, Saturday, January 30

Matthew Centrowitz (USA / OR), 3:54.02, event record, North Carolina State indoor record and absolute state record
Shannon Rowbury (USA / OR), 4:26.01

11th Medtronic TC 1 Mile: USA Championship
Minneapolis, MN, Thursday, May 12

Ben Blankenship (USA / OR), 3:55.8, event record, $10,000 bonus
Heather Kampf (USA / MN), 4:34.2

2nd ServiceNow West Chester Mile
West Chester, PA, Thursday, August 11

Kyle Merber (USA / NY), 3:56.19, event record
Lauren Johnson (USA / OR), 4:31.33

10th Minnesota Mile
Duluth, MN, Sunday, September 11

Chris O’Hare (GBR), 4:02
Emily Lipari (USA / MA), 4:37

5th GNC Live Well Liberty Mile
Pittsburgh, PA, Saturday, September 17

Ben Blankenship (USA / OR), 4:02
Heather Kampf (USA / MN), 4:33, fourth event title

2nd The Navy Mile
Washington, DC, Sunday, October 2

Riley Masters (USA / WA), 4:04, event record
Heather Kampf (USA / MN), 4:38, event record

BBTM GP Tour 2016 Final Standings
1) Riley Masters (WA), 24 points, $2500
2) Ben Blankenship (MN), 20 points, $1250*
3) Ford Palmer (NJ), 18 points, $750
4) Graham Crawford (NC), 14 points, $500

1) Heather Kampf (MN), 42 points, $2500
2) Emily Lipari (MA), 22 points, $1250*
3) Lauren Johnson (OR), 21 points, $750
4) Christy Cazzola (GA), 20 points, $500
*includes $250 bonus for Tour 2016 Performance-of-the-Year

BBTM Grand Prix Tour Champions (2014-16)
2014 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2015 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2016 Riley Masters & Heather Kampf

Like past Tour editions, the Running Warehouse “Pick-the-Winner” online contest engaged Mile fans at each Tour stop. HOW IT WORKED: Fans predicted the closest winning time per gender for a chance to win a pair of shoes courtesy of Running Warehouse plus a BBTM prize package (one winning time award per gender). Also those who correctly picked the race winners were placed in a random drawing to win a BBTM prize package: one winner from the men’s field and one winner from the women’s field.

Visit or contact for more BBTM Grand Prix Tour news and information.

Tags: west chester mile (4) , the navy mile (29) , shannon rowbury (61) , ryan lamppa (110) , riley masters (23) , minnesota mile (32) , medtronic tc 1 mile (50) , matthew centrowitz (132) , lauren johnson (20) , kyle merber (43) , heather kampf (131) , graham crawford (4) , gnc live well liberty mile (69) , ford palmer (16) , emily lipari (51) , christy cazzola (6) , chris o'hare (18) , camel city elite (9) , ben blankenship (72) , bbtm tour (196)

Facebook Comments

Return the Mile to prominence on the American & worldwide sports and cultural landscape by elevating and celebrating the Mile to create a movement.

Bring Back the Mile as the premier event in the sport, and increase interest in and media coverage of the Mile for both those who love the distance as well as the general public.

Bring Back the Mile to celebrate the storied distance and to recognize the people who made and make the Mile great and to promote Mile events and the next generation of U.S. Milers.

Bring Back the Mile to create a national movement for the Mile as America’s Distance,
to inspire Americans to run the Mile as part of their fitness program and to replace the 1600 meters at High School State Track & Field Meets across the country.

Become a Mile Maniac member or a BBTM sponsor today! Join us, and go Mile!

Join Us

Thanks for joining the movement and being a Mile Maniac. We'll keep you up to-date with our Mile wires as well as exclusive contests and opportunities. Help us spread the word by sharing our site and joining us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram!